5 Inspirational Quotes on Writing 

1. “Write with the door closed, rewrite with the door open. Your stuff starts out being just for you, in other words, but then it goes out. Once you know what the story is and get it right—as right as you can, any-way—it belongs to anyone who wants to read it.”

-Stephen King in ‘On Writing’

I find this quote very inspiring, especially when I struggle to revise and edit, wondering what to keep and what to cross out. I understand my responsibility for my writing to be meaningful because when I share it, it is no longer mine alone. 

2. “Rereading old books that I love. I think the writing energizes and inspires me as much as it did the first time. I also watch a lot of TV. Immersing myself in other people’s stories really helps me.”

—Brandy Colbert, author of Pointe on how to defeat the writer’s block. 

There are so many times I hit it, the writer’s block. The books I love always tell me the what and how and I come back brimming with ideas, wanting to recreate the magic. 

3. “Originality is partly a matter of having your own influences: read evolutionary biology textbooks or the Old Testament, find your metaphors where no one’s looking, don’t belong. Or belong to the other world that is not quite this one, the world from which you send back your messages.”

– Rebecca Solnit, writer

I find this advice beautiful… Of belonging to another world because that is what I feel, when I spend too much time in my head. 

4. “Sometimes you climb out of bed in the morning and you think, I’m not going to make it, but you laugh inside remembering all the times you’ve felt that way.” 

– Charles Bukowski, poet. 

This relates to life and to disappointments and to the misery we feel occasionally. I may feel that when I am trying to write something ambitious but I always remember that I have been able to finish and that it turned out alright. 

5. “We die. That may be the meaning of life. But we do language. That may be the measure of our lives.” 

– Toni Morrison, in her Nobel lecture, 1993.

This is the only true reason that I am inspired to write. To create a measure for my life. 


Do share the writers quotes that inspire you and make you want to take up that pen right now… 

This is the third in the series of ‘Friday Listicles‘, a weekly feature that professes our love for anything that is presented in a numbered or bulleted form, paving the way for a happy weekend. 

22 Comments

  1. All these quotes are uplifting. At various moments, things can seem muddled or clumsy. I hope I can draw inspiration from them.
    The image you’ve used is nice too, a kind of peek into the transient nature of life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. I am glad you liked the quotes.
      There are times when we all could do with a little inspiration and some advice. I consider these quotes as something that speaks to me when I have doubts.
      As for the image, I clicked these trees on one of the road trips. Traveling brings out our philosophical side, I feel 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. Next listicle post is due tomorrow. Would you really like to read more quotes? Is there any other idea or subject that you would like to read about? Let’s see if I can weave something around that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, say a series on travel. Or one on the roads travelled, how they make a difference. Or maybe the usefulness of perseverance. Anything, really. I’d love to read whatever you come up with. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi
    Thanks for posting this, only quote I knew was the one by Stephan King. The rest I didn’t but they are good, and inspiring.
    I think the main one that has stuck by me over the years is the quote by Ira Glass on writing. It is something that has kept me writing, know that my work can improve in leaps and bounds.
    From
    Ru

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thanks Ru, for reading and for your valuable comment.
      I am reading Stephen King’s book, ‘On Writing’ and it is very good. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to improve his/ her writing.
      Please share the quote by Ira Glass that you find so inspiring. I would like to read it very much!
      Sona

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. Oh, this is a really beautiful quote! Very encouraging, very inspiring!
        I must pin it up at a place where I can see it everyday.
        You have read Stephen King’s book, ‘On Writing ‘! I am so glad that you enjoyed it just like I am doing. I hope to do a review / discussion of the book on my blog once I finish it.
        I think you are very prolific. You talk of your novels. Having a published book is the goal of every person who writes. Good luck with yours!
        Thanks so much for sharing the quote!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hi,
        I have had that on my wall for the last three years, has helped me through this whole journey.
        I am trying to stick to a schedule, it’s how I do most of my writing. I think I need a deadline to write rather then being very free.
        I can write on an hour train journey 500+ words, but give me a whole weekend free and I struggle. Setting goals and deadlines for my blog is just an extension of that, I feel.
        I still have a long way to go, my grammar and tenses are the main thing I am working on.
        From
        Ru

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks Ru, for sharing your method of getting better at writing.
        You mention deadlines and goals and my experience has been similar. I can write well and a lot when I am very busy and juggling multiple responsibilities. The urgency percolates into the writing process. On the other hand, plenty of time means that I do not complete posts or I struggle to focus.
        I had not considered it an impediment as such, thinking it to be my whim alone but now that you have pointed it out, I would take care of the time factor and of putting deadlines to chase my writing goals.
        It has been invaluable talking to you about inspiration and about the process of improvement. Thanks again!
        Sona

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hi Sona,
        I have enjoyed talk to you about the experience to.
        Writing is such a huge kettle of water, so many different things can affect you.
        We as writers need to find out what works best with us, be it deadlines or otherwise. But we should not be thinking about finding the ideal situation to write in all the day, we need to be flexible.
        If we enjoy the process of writing then the words will flow, that I know from experience.
        From
        Ru

        Like

      5. If we can write for the joy and the love of it, then we can write for a long time, not needing any external motivation.
        Thanks Ru, for telling me that the words would flow if we enjoy the process of writing 🙂
        Sona

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

