The Virtual Coffee Date

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how writing is on my mind these days. I would tell you of that November long gone by when I did nothing but write in the days and late into the nights and how that outpouring was one of the most fulfilling experiences I had. 

I would tell you how much I had cherished that sense of fulfillment and how that ultimately led to my attempting to write again with abandon. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how sometimes the days look bleak and the weather hostile. I would tell you how the very hot days have mellowed into an autumnal coolness, the days stepping shyly into winter. I would tell you of the crunch of leaves under my feet as I walk along the tree lined roads. I would tell you how the trees shedding their leaves are making me think of bare branches and harsh silhouettes. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you of my quest for the perfectly brewed cup. I would tell you how I step into coffee shops only for the aroma of the freshly roasted coffee beans and bread. I would tell you how much I like fresh baked bread. 

I would tell you how I dream of bread loaves, unleavened which I can cut into thick slices and serve with a strong cheese. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about the power of a paradigm shift. I would tell you of the little moments when I experienced that shift and the big changes they brought about. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how loss in our lives catches us unawares. I would tell you that at times it feels that the pain would never go away but it dulls with time and the hurt turns to bitter sweet feelings as regrets mingle with memories. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would talk of the books I have been reading these days. I would tell you of the different worlds that I am exploring in the pages and the myriad emotions there that leave an indelible mark. I would tell you of my disappointment of not holding the books in my hands when I read from the screen and unable to smell them and I would tell you of the wonder of books that enthrall so much that I forget about the sensory pleasure of holding a book in my hands. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you of my delight at having discovered mindful moments in my day to day life. I would tell you how these perfect moments seem frozen in time and memories and how writing about them is akin to writing poetry. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how connecting with long lost friends makes time stop. I would tell you of how the past and the present come together to coalesce when you are with the person who knows you inside out and for ages. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how much I like these virtual coffee dates where I feel like I am talking to a lot of my former and future selves. 

16 Comments

  1. Guess you’d read these virtual coffee dates some time in the future and smile with the fondness that is the hallmark of nostalgia.
    Lovely post. The paragraph about the fresh bread and coffee made me salivate. Maybe I need to find fresh bread in the morning. 😝
    Terrific post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thanks so much! I am so glad that you liked reading it.
      You are perceptive in saying that I would read these posts fondly sometime in the future. Recently I read the first one I wrote and I was surprised and gladdened and inspired to connect more.
      Hope you could find that coffee and the fresh bread to go with it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. And you made it through the nanowrimo, Many many congratulations πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½. If we were having coffee (which I just actually finished now), I would Let you know what an amazing accomplishment you made.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thanks so much, Ameena!!
      I am delighted to have you congratulate me. In my writing journey on my blog, I have always found inspiration in your excellent writing.
      The nanowrimo was a great experience and truly wonderful learning. Maybe next year, we could do it together πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

