Over a Cup of Coffee

If we were having coffee right now… you would be frowning down at the strong, milk less, bitter beverage, unable to drink it but not wanting to interrupt me.

If we were having coffee right now… you would try not to look around the room for the place would be littered with boxes in various stages of being packed. I would wax eloquent about the joys of packing things, sorting them into categories, grouping them and putting them carefully, having put bubble wrap around them and the satisfaction of labeling the boxes. I would tell you a tad hesitantly about the way I keep my thoughts nearly categorised and labeled too, to pull them out when I need them. I would go on to tell you how I have struggled to unbind my thoughts and put them chaotically on the shelves of my mind.

If we were having coffee right now… which by now you would be swirling around impatiently, trying to wish it away, I would tell you about my partner in crime and our various escapades. You would look into the dark liquid in the cup and I would catch you doing that. I would tell you who gifted that oversized cup to me and when and how much it means to me.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about my longing to visit this very beautiful garden with a regal building and an imposing staircase. I would take out a rudimentary guide map torn from a book and trace the route I want to take with my finger. I would pause at the important places and bends in the way, almost as if I were there already, looking dreamy as I contemplate the first view I would have of the place.

If we were having coffee right now… I would look pleased for I would be sure of your attention now. I would take this time to ask you of your work and music. I would ask you if you had saved all the music you had pledged to, the mellifluous strains of which I would listen to looking out contentedly at the lake and the overgrown weeds around it.

If we were having coffee right now… I would point to my work table littered with thick ivory sheets and crayons and scissors. I would show you my half finished attempts at creating props for storytelling. I would talk of my doubts and hesitation in going ahead with tell-a-story to underprivileged children, for I was afraid of not being able to connect or make a difference.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about the pigeons on the tin roof and the racket they make in the mornings. I would ask you if you would like to scatter bird feed to them, which you would say yes to with a wondering look.

If we were having coffee right now… you would tell me triumphantly that you would have to leave the dredges of the brew because it got cold while you were listening to me. I would offer you another cup, though.

17 Comments

  1. If I were having coffee with you right now… I would admit that maintaining/sustaining a relationship is not my cup of tea/coffee 🙂
    However friends do wonder and am alive by virtue of my friends and their jokes. I can crack joke on myself and accept jokes cracked by others. That drives my pulse. LOL
    Good Morning with a cuppa chaye 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    1. Good Morning! Though, I am replying by night 😉 welcome to my little nook for some chai. It is good to talk. My namesake, I too am very bad at being in touch even though I have had wonderful people to walk with me in life. Happy to know your friends are good and around you and make you laugh! And great to know you love jokes!
      Thanks for the company 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  2. That was a delicious conversation to start over coffee and guess it might extend to the next meal time, over a forgotten cup of coffee and chilled food.. 😉

    Wonderful conversation!! 😀 I felt like being part of post so it’s a conversation right.. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. It would be lovely to have you over for a longish chat where the food and the coffee is forgotten as we ruminate, share our impressions and experiences, interrupt each other yet complete each other’s sentences. I am grateful for your company 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. If we were having coffee right now, you’d be making fun of me for how much cream I have put in. One of my friends used to joke, “I like my men the same way I like my coffee: strong and black.” To which I’d respond, “So…I like my men light, sweet and poured over ice?” Coffee that’s cooled is never a problem for me. 🙂

    Hey, have you ever considered putting a menu up top, so people could click by your main topics? Just a thought. (I was thinking about reorganizing mine and noticed you didn’t have one.) I see you have a topic list on the side, but for people like me who have problems finding things in lists…and no, I’m not ADHD, just lazy. (Hubby would say…both…) 😉

    Like

    Reply

    1. Ha ha! Great way to describe your coffee preferences! Would love a longer talk!
      Thanks so much for the feedback regarding the menu on top. I recently changed the blog’s theme and this one has menu only on the sidebars. I too am a little unhappy about it. And the tagline of my blog is not so prominent. I guess I need to go theme shopping once again 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

