My Punctuation Quirks

It is a grammar rule that a sentence can end with only one terminal punctuation mark. So, it can be a period (.), a question mark (?) or an exclamation mark (!). I admit there are times when I want to use both the question mark and the exclamation mark after a sentence. I would not dare do it in a formal setting, but when chatting it feels liberating!

I love the semicolon (;)! A semicolon is used to join two or more parts/ideas of sentences and those parts/ideas have an equal status. Reminds me of status updates on the social media, though. Anyway, because I like my sentences to be long and even rambling; bring in one idea after the other and sometimes introducing a poetic element, I find the semicolon handy. Psst… it is also intimidating, and I like to do that to people sometimes!

No, I do not like the exclamation mark at all! Then, why am I using it so liberally? I like to convey ideas in words in such a manner that the exclamation mark is rendered redundant.

Slashes (/), apostrophes (‘), parentheses ( ) are so good; they lend mystique to any written piece. They almost show that the ideas are brimming over and the writer wants to convey as much as possible in just a little time. Apostrophes are best used in plural for they let you show off!

However, ellipses (…) are the best! You can trail off anytime when you run out of ideas….

This post at Blabberwocking! had me intrigued so I Had to be Companionable!

10 Comments

    1. Thanks Anand! I had loved your post and had been musing on it for some days, wanting to contribute.
      Incidentally, you are managing your comments very well now πŸ™‚ I almost did not believe you would see the link back πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  1. Even the Chicago Manual of Style, which tends to be conservative about all things punctuation, allows both a question mark and an exclamation mark to end a sentence. Can you imagine that!?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

