I could do without

In the future, I could do without a lot of things that I currently own. My material possessions are bearing down on me. Everywhere I look I see ‘things’, that have little or no relevance to my life today. Sure, once they were cherished, scouted for in supermarkets or the vibrant Sunday bazaars, bought lovingly and given the pride of place in my home and life. But times change,  perspectives change and priorities change.

When I was young and just starting out, I had a dream house in mind. I knew exactly the kind of artefacts I wanted, the colours of the rugs on the floor, the placement of the art on the walls. I knew what I wanted in the refrigerator and how and with what my kitchen shelves would be lined. I knew how large a wardrobe I wanted, and how many walls of the house be lined with books. I knew I would hold on to my papers, cards, knick knacks forever, maybe out of sight in boxes but with me, nevertheless.

Over the years, I bought and stocked. Never injudiciously but not far sighted as well. The ‘things’ now populate the space I call home. The ‘things’ have even spilled out to my parent’s and in laws’ homes. When I look, think, analyse the need and the usage, I am surprised. Fortunately, I am surprised quite often because my family moves places frequently. Statistically, I can say that I can get rid of 60% of ‘things’ immediately without them ever being missed. Another 10% can be thoughtfully donated. Another 10% can be ‘forcibly’ donated. With all the books I own, I can stock a small library. So, I am going to do just that. Donate to a small library. I am trying to convince myself to let go of my papers and that my children and future grandchildren would not want to trawl through my scribblings on yellowed sheets of paper.

In the future, I would trust my memory more. I may lose bits of memories as time goes by but that is alright too, for I would have loved and lived the moments and each emotion felt fully would be a closure and an invitation to newer experiences.

25 Comments

  1. I really don’t know how you manage to get rid of things.. Try as much.. I feel drawn to them when I am almost giving them off.. Each one with memories.. Ahh must need real will power to do so han.. But m sure your grand children would love to atleast go through the memoirs of their wonderful grand momma in future.. πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Yes Neethu, it is very difficult to let go of things because so many memories are associated with them. I guess, in my case, it is also a matter of Having to do it as we move every few years. And packing and unpacking a whole lot of stuff forces you to think πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    1. Thank you, Anand. I like that people have begun to see the benefits of minimalism. Having said that, I must confess that I try to adopt it but it would take me time to truly embrace the concept. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  2. Yes, I struggle with getting rid of things ! I need to and I can to some extent, but than it just always seems to have some emotional memory with it and I am like, Nooo..can’t do. LOL! But in saying that, I know there are a lot of objects that have no emotional tug, its just that I sadly I am too lazy to get rid of them. But I am getting there. Just stacked up some things today to cart off to the Thrift Store. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. This goes to the heart of something I’ve been thinking a lot about recently. My cupboards are full of stuff. There’s even stuff stored in our very large ceiling/attic. And the time is coming to dispose of it. Afterall, it’s only stuff. And, oh, I can type that but actually letting the stuff go – that’s another story, altogether. Thoroughly enjoyed your post, Sona!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. I was such a HUGE hoarder up until a couple of years ago! I would save everything from ticket stubs to old articles which never got re-read and clothes which never got worn again. The worst part was that once these odds and ends pile up, there’s no particular place for them and they seem to be everywhere!

    I have thrown away so many old things since then and I really enjoy the peace of mind it gives me not to spend hours wondering what to do with all that stuff. I still have some way to go regarding magazines and how many of them I have collected ‘to read later’ but hopefully I’ll get there.

    And I loved what you said here, I am trying to convince myself to let go of my papers and that my children and future grandchildren would not want to trawl through my scribblings on yellowed sheets of paper.”

    Good luck to you on your de-cluttering ! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful contribution! Clutter really drains our energy so much and we do not even realise that the things we are holding on to are actually pulling us down.
      It definitely is difficult and very courageous on your part to part with ‘stuff’ especially when you say that you have been in a habit of hoarding. You must share your journey from ‘clutter to declutter’.
      And yes, magazines. For the past few days, I have looking and relooking at my collection of ‘Lonely Planet’ and myriad others, trying to decide what to keep and what to give away.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    1. I might scan a few of those papers; the ones that contain some information. For the rest, scanning them would mean reducing them to another physical entity, in another form that still sits around some place other than in memories.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

