My top talents you won’t want

Here is a list of my top talents I cannot avoid and wouldn’t want nurtured. These are the things that help me blunder through life when I am not writing.

One, I cannot remember names or faces. Sure, it happens to all of us. Sometimes. But, all the time? Some people are bad with names and others with faces. What about the ones like me who are bad at both? It just means that I forget all my neighbours whom I meet occasionally, my spouse’s colleagues and people I meet at social gatherings. However, I am aware of my shortcoming and to avoid making others feel bad, I cheerily respond to evey greeting that comes my way. I even engage in a conversation with such unknown (to my mind) people, hoping that exchanging a few sentences would remind me of who this really is.

Two, I cherish last moments. Not last moments of a life well lived but last moments leading to any task that needs to be completed, any deadline that needs to be met. As is rightly said, “If it weren’t for the the last moment, nothing would ever get done.” That’s me.

Three, I feel all objects in any enclosed space are meant to be bumped into. What else are they there for? So, when when I weave myself from point A to point B, I weave. Not walk straight, but go bump into anything moving or stationery.

Four, I love work. I always need a long list of tasks that need to be done. I love that list so much that I do not subtract anything. So, I leave things unfinished just so that I can come back and cherish the feeling of having plenty to do.

Five, I like everything organised. In their proper places. In colour coded bins. With labels. So much so, that by the time organising for one space is done, entropy has taken over and created more organising tasks in other spaces. Entropy or not, I still like to chase perfection.

What would you list as your greatest talent?

Thanks to Joyrosesand Ameena for listing their talents so that I was inspired to come up with my own list.

33 Comments

  1. I’m not good with names or faces either! I have lived in so many places that I just act like I know whoever is talking to me. Sure we met last week at a work party or we had the same class in college. You seem like an interesting person, so I’m going to have fun talking with you and hope you never realize I have no idea who you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. So funny! This is especially hilarious for me to read right now because just yesterday I was “congratulating” myself for hitting new heights of procrastination, and saying that if it were a salable skill, I would be a millionaire by now.

    And yes, I believe I love work the same way you do. Ah, that wonderful to-do list. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. A very entertaining read. I can identify with some of your talents, but not all. I always remember faces, but rarely names, and bumping into things is another of my talents, too. I can’t say I share your need for colour-coded bins, though. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thank you for reading and sharing your talents πŸ™‚ Remembering faces at least make you sure that the person you are talking to has been an acquaintance. And bumping into things, I feel, is really a high level skill πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    1. Thank you so much, Rose Marie. I was inspired to write this post after reading a blogger friend’s who in the first place was inspired by a comment I had made on another post of hers. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  4. That’s such a unique way of putting a list together of things you do when not writing! I am bad with names (or have become recently!) and I’ll end up calling the wrong name to the wrong person which usually ends embarrassingly!

    I love how organized you are (super organizers are my inspiration!)! I’ll usually start a task but usually leave it unfinished (my proofs are the several unfinished post drafts and projects on my computer!) and even list making is unable to solve this problem.

    Like

    Reply

    1. I was inspired by two of my blogger friends to make this list.
      Love to hear about your talents πŸ™‚ BTW, I leave lots of things unfinished too. I love work too much to let it go. πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply

  5. It feels great to have finally found a partner :D. Even though I am good with names, when I do forget, I also just smile and chat up with people.
    If I could just go a day without bumping into things, do you ever feel that way too? Hahaha, great list and I enjoyed reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thanks so much! After I read your list, I felt now I just had to talk about my own talents! Good to know I am not alone in my forgetfulness πŸ˜€
      And yes, I do try to be graceful and ladylike when I walk, But…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. Ahh a lovely fun filled post.. Enjoyed reading it.. I remember names but not faces and as far as bumping into objects go, I always think that the little toe was made for the purpose of eternally bumping into furniture.πŸ˜‚

    Like

    Reply

  7. […] My Top Talents You Won’t Want by Read Write Live – What a quirky and unique way of saying, “These are the things I am not very good at!” because of course, being not good at something is also a real talent (I should know, I am talented at many such things, haha!). I love Sona’s blog, we’ve had great interactions with each other and her writing is really amazing! Check out her posts and you’ll know exactly what I mean. […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

