Where we write

I have a fascination for spaces. Open, closed, narrow, wide. I am sure whoever is reading this, has a fascination for collecting umbrella handles or tasting fish bait or punching errant drivers on the road and frankly, we would all rather be talking about our own fascinations and interests than be reading about someone else’s. But, since this is a blog and you need to at least skim through the damned post so that you can make an intelligent comment, I have the benefit of putting together a couple of hundred words to put out a seemingly interesting post.

Ah, spaces. When I was just a struggling writer, that is struggling to put in enough time to write, I often thought that an isolated cabin in the hills would be the ideal place to write. There would be an occasional deer grazing out in the green patch outside the cabin (if deer can be found at higher altitudes, otherwise, chirping birds would do, because I am not crazy about bears) and a gurgling stream in the background which I would sit next to in between the writing. I was sure that masterpieces could be created this way.

However, over the years, I learnt something quite different. Whenever I feel overwhelmed, I just want to escape to the mountains, like our learned sages but the irony is that I am already living in the mountains. My house looks into a valley and at night the hills are alive with twinkling lights. It is breathtaking and just the right place for inspiration to strike. Yet, writing is more than the place, the atmosphere, the resources. It is the urge to put on paper what cannot be held in the heart.

I have now recalibrated my writing habits. I mostly need absolute peace, but I have learnt to make do in crowded spaces, in noisy places. When I have to write, I write wherever I can, with whatever I can. I can type away entire posts on my phone if I do not have the luxury of a pen and paper. I can write sitting amidst a chanting group of devotees in a temple. My apologies to the Gods!

For inspiration, I would love to hear of your writing spaces and your writing habits. Thank you, friends, for having come this far (in the post). The Day 6 task of Writing 101 asks us to include a poll asking readers feedback on what topics to write about and since I do not want my friends to turn away in disgust at having to make yet another effort just when the rambling was actually going to end, please leave your answers in the comments. That is, if you have had coffee and are feeling sprightly enough.

34 Comments

  1. I loved this post and your writing is amazing as is your writing space! My dream is to be able to live in the mountains (I am almost serious about moving back to India and living on a hill station). You’re quite blessed to be living in such a beautiful town. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thank you for appreciating! It makes me want to write more ๐Ÿ™‚
      Having lived in Dubai for so long, I can understand your wanting to live in the mountains. However, we carry our weather with us and after a while, every place is the same. We bring meaning to places rather than places adding meaning to our lives ๐Ÿ™‚ was that too preachy?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      1. You’re absolutely correct about bringing meaning to places rather than the other way around. However, without sounding too cliched or corny, my heart has not been in the city’s concrete jungles since a long time and I always find myself nostalgic about the couple of years I have spent back home in India among real lush nature and people who have an amazing zest for life. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ” I am sure whoever is reading this, has a fascination for collecting umbrella handles or tasting fish bait or punching errant drivers on the road and frankly, we would all rather be talking about our own fascinations and interests than be reading about someone elseโ€™s. But, since this is a blog and you need to at least skim through the damned post so that you can make an intelligent comment, I have the benefit of putting together a couple of hundred words to put out a seemingly interesting post.”

    So many presumptions ๐Ÿ˜›

    At least, they are not true about me. I am connected with you since the very first day and I like reading about you. I enjoyed reading this article and perhaps Gods also want you to inspire others. No need to apologize.

    You like peace and space–most valuable things which make everything possible.,

    Love and light โค

    Anand

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Yes, lots of presumptions. I had more but someone interrupted me while I was writing and I lost the thread. So, the post is in three distinct voices.
      I am flattered that you feel connected to me through my writing. When I first saw your blog name and tagline, I was intrigued. I wanted to find out more about blabberwockying because I am a great fan of Jaberwocky and Lewis Carroll. And I like the blabberwockying on your blog.
      Umm.. so what do you collect/eat? You definitely didn’t like to punch people ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. I totally agree with your thoughts.. Initially I too was of the opinion that a quiet place,visually imagining a steaming hot cup of tea, a pen in hand, deeply immersed in thoughts, looking out into the woods amidst the chirping of birds and nature was required to write something amazing, but gradually I realised, I can type away stories and tales in between watching TV, cooking or in my case diagnosing and treating patients.. I enjoyed this post..๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

      1. Ha ha ha love it..๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜›๐Ÿ˜›๐Ÿ˜›
        I started my wordpress journey sitting in the hospital when I was like really bored and fed up of my routine work.. So as you rightly said, a setting isn’t required to pen rather in my case type down thoughts.. ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve had enough coffee and I’m feeling sprightly, so I’m voting for more quotes. Where do I write? Twisted round with my feet up, sitting on a small, antique wooden chair against an equally old, cut down maid’s pine dresser. The drawer handle pokes out in my leg. The height’s all wrong, so my iMac is on The Complete Works of Shakespeare to lift it a bit. I wonder every time I sit down why I do this. Modern equipment would be more comfortable, but I just like the character; the smooth patina of the old wood.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Oh, the description of your writing space is so vivid, I can feel the drawer handle and the smooth feel of the wood. My elbows jut out because the chair is so small and the Shakespeare volume has a loose binding now for it has been frequently used as a prop. It feels hot to touch because of the Mac…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    1. I also meant to add that it is a great place to discover diverse people and blogs ๐Ÿ™‚
      I remember you from the time you had started your blog. You are a journalist, I think and one of your first posts was about the commute to work and back. And the dismal state of transportation.
      I have been thinking of you all these months and wanted to go back and find you, and voila! here you are…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. This is great! Enjoy Writing 101, I took it and really liked it. If I had seen that they were offering it again I would have signed up again. Where you live sounds beautiful and the perfect place., but you are right it really is anywhere! I have gotten up at 3am to write on scratch paper something that came to me. I have to scrambled for paper in my purse to write when at a Dr.s office, etc. When inspiration hits you just gotta do it. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thank you for telling me how and where you write. You also read at the doc’s, ever since you were a kid ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yes, writing 101 is really wonderful! I know you took it last September, I did too and that is where I found you. And Priceless Joy. And Jodi ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  6. Great post. ๐Ÿ™‚ And, I used to need to be able whenever I had to write, too. But, now I can write in crowded buses (I usually do, on the way back home). Like you said, if I HAVE to write, I can write anywhere.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

