Success is counted sweetest, by those who ne’er succeed…

I might like it plain and bland,
but God has other plans on hand,
very spicy is the fare,
no water for me far or near.

I used to have a morbid fear of failure. I would not start anything new. I would plan excellently, covering all contingencies, but execution would have me stumped. As a result, nothing ever got done.

Then, life handed me lots of lemons, one after the other, for a long long time. I had absolutely no choice but to make lemonade. And boy, was it delicious!

Now, I know I have nothing to lose. I have been through the worst. Setbacks and obstacles may come but they would not deter me. Even if I fail, I would have done something; walked a few steps and that is better than not having walked at all.

To quote Emily Dickinson once again,

Success is counted sweetest,
By those who ne’er succeed.
To comprehend a nectar,
Requires sorest need.

Daily Prompt

“If failure is the condiment that gives success its flavour” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

