Beginnings

“The chief beauty about time
is that you cannot waste it in advance.
The next year, the next day, the next hour are lying ready for you,
as perfect, as unspoiled,
as if you had never wasted or misapplied,
a single moment in all your life.
You can turn over a new leaf every hour
if you choose.”

Arnold Bennett

There is something about beginnings that is quite addictive. It brings freshness, hope, potential. Who is not fond of New Year and the sense of newness it brings? Resolutions are made and hope springs eternal about this being the moment that would be the turning point.

As for me, I not only love the New Year but the beginning of each month as well. The date 1st of … brings joy. I feel excited. In addition, I feel very happy and hopeful and even blessed on each Sangrandh, which is the beginning of the new month as per the Sikh calendar. There are plenty of plans each time. In fact, I feel great every morning as well for that signals a new day, a new beginning.

Every few days, I create new rituals for my mornings. My favourite newspaper, The Times of India, carries a feature on morning rituals each Sunday. People from all walks of life- authors, teachers, spiritual gurus or anybody else considered wise enough is invited to discuss how he/she starts his/her day. I enjoy going through the diverse ways people bring a newness in their lives each morning.

I like to vary the way I begin my mornings. Some days I start with contemplation and reflection. I like to sit silently and just be. Other days, I sit with a mug of my favourite brew and do something creative, like write or paint. Still other days, I like to read inspirational literature. I also like to practise yoga and pranayama (breath exercises). When I start feeling I have been sitting around for too long, I start going for morning walks and having exercise sessions. It does not matter what I do, but mornings , especially early mornings are precious. In my religion, this time is called Amrit vela and every Sikh is exhorted to make the best use of this time daily for a fulfilling life.

So, my mornings are planned to bring peace, hope and fulfilment. Only through this am I able to give the best of myself to others as well.

3 Comments

  1. I am not an ‘early morning’ person’ , but nice to know you are….! So nice read how you spend your mornings and the plans every new day ! You are so right…beginnings have a special something , that attracts us to them…making us feel rejuvenated and motivated again ! Nice read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

