Why I Stopped Writing

How and when did I fall off the Reader of my followers? Well, it is just that I have not posted on my blog for a while(8 days!, actually).

The couple of months preceding this lag were very productive. I wrote regularly, I published regularly. I pushed my boundaries, I discovered new things I could write. I was having a huge amount of fun and getting more confident each passing day. And then suddenly, I slipped up. Why?

Here are some of the reasons I could identify.

I had not established a ritual.
I realised that although I was passionate about writing and it was one of the most uplifting things I did during the day, I had still failed to make the act of writing a ritual. I wrote intermittently, whenever I could. Some days, I got up rather early and got a few pages done before the chaotic day started. On other days I wrote when my children took a nap. Or I wrote late in the night. Throughout the day, I wrote snippets.

Even then, I did not have a specific place or a time of the day built into my routine. So when things became busier, I had no place or the time to redeem my writing.

I waited for inspiration.
I realised that in some cases I waited for a magnificent idea to strike me so that I could write a beautiful piece. There were times when an idea would just seem divine. And I waited for words to come in a torrent. I waited and waited. Those pieces never got written.

It was only because I did not sit down to write them. I did not work on the ideas I had. It was a case of too much planning and too little execution. I never got around to producing my masterpieces.

I did not want to edit my work.
My reluctance to edit was another one of the reasons that I did not publish. Admitting that my piece needed to be edited was akin to saying that I did not write well or that I had written badly in the first place.

Add to that my realisation that I simply could not dump on the paper or the screen whatever came to my mind. Things needed to be struck out, phrases tweaked and even sentences axed. Sometimes, the point of view needed to be changed. I was horrified at the prospect.

So, those two opposing instincts led to my failure to write.

I forgot to be vigilant.
Another thing I did not realise that I had to be vigilant against not writing. I got complacent because I thought I was doing a great job. I thought writing had become a second nature. So I relaxed and then I slacked. And then, I got busy with life.

I did not understand that writing is an active pursuit.
Writing is not something dreamy. It is not that I transfer some emotions on to the paper and be hailed a genius. I also needed to work on the process. It is not a passive occupation but an active pursuit. Motivation is important as also knowing what strategies would work.

Yes, it is very fulfilling to write and to do it well. So, I shall just keep at it.

4 Comments

  1. Great post with some excellent insight. You’re spot-on; writing is an active pursuit, something I’m learning myself. I had to smile: when I saw your post in my Reader I thought, oh, hey, who’s this I’m following? Good luck with your writing 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Thank you for sharing. Same problem here. I feel overwhelmed with all of the e-mails to read and answer, visit friends, write snail mail letters, make birthday cards for relatives, check mailbox, take writing class, cook, take care of hubby. I am a very poor time manager. I need to figure out a schedule. Hope you get back on track. I’m going to try to make a schedule and stick to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Love this! I can identify with it too! I was nodding my head to some of the points you wrote saying YUP, that’s me! Good luck to you in getting back to writing and thank you for pushing me to try to set a daily time to write….instead of waiting for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

