The Power of 21

Today is Day 21, counting from the day I published my first post on this blog. No, I have not hit the Publish button these many times but I feel like a true blue blogger now. I can write, I can publish, I can play around with formats, I can make widgets work for me(OK, I still have problems with the drag-and-drop bit), I know a thing or two about the layouts, I can reach out to others in the blogosphere…

From not knowing the first thing about blogging almost a month and a half back to reaching a moderate level of proficiency feels like an achievement. I am not zero-to-hero(or heroine) yet, but I am getting there.

There is something interesting I learnt about repetition many years ago. It is not difficult to start and inculcate a new or positive thing in your life. Admittedly, the beginning may be a bit challenging, but if you want to incorporate a particular behaviour in your life, then repeat the activity for at least 21 days in a row.

Author and Motivational guru, Robin Sharma calls it the Magic Rule of 21 in his book, “The Monk Who Sold his Ferrari”. For new behaviour to crystallise into a habit, you have to perform the new activity everyday at the same time for 21 days in a row, he says. This is the time it takes to create a new neural pathway in the brain. At the end of this time, it becomes part of your routine.

I can vouch for the effectiveness of this rule. And now that I am a blogger, let me work on the other things in my life like umm.. getting fitter, eating healthier, decluttering my life. For 21 days I need to be consistent and vigilant and then, it is in the bag!



Have you ever tried changing something in your life for the better? What was your strategy?

Leave a Reply

